Skip to main content


Meet Your Excellence in Education Honorees and Finalists

Congratulations to the 73 staff members from across the district who were honored at the Excellence in Education Awards at Mountain View High School

Article Date: May 16, 2024

On May 15 at Mountain View High School we recognized 73 staff members from across the district who have distinguished themselves this school year with their leadership, innovation, outstanding professional practice, and positive contributions at work and in the community.

The honorees, nominated by their supervisors, were recognized at our annual Excellence in Education Awards. They include custodians, counselors, kitchen managers, classroom teachers, educational assistants, office managers, bus drivers and others who have had a positive impact on students.

“It’s a wonderful celebration of the Bend-La Pine Schools exceptional staff members who are exemplars of their profession,” Superintendent Steven Cook said. “This is a talented, dedicated and caring group of educators and support staff that bring their commitment and joy to work every single day.”

At the end of the program, the district named 14 finalists for the certified employee of the year and the support staff employee of the year. Those two honors will be announced at the start of the 2024-25 school year.

Excellence in Education finalists for 2024 are:

Support Staff of the Year:

Carisa Gregg - Custodial Department

Amanda Caffro - Rosland Elementary

Tom Hollingshead - Caldera High School

Nicole Garroutte - Elk Meadow Elementary

Tiffany Schreiber - La Pine Middle School

Bobbi Nelson - Juniper Elementary

Glen Carey - W.E. Miller Elementary

Certified Employee of the Year:

Heidi Dixon - Realms High School

Lauren Miller - Cascade Middle School

Cameron Salvitelli - La Pine High School

Terri Wolnick - Bear Creek Elementary

Mary Dean - Elk Meadow Elementary

Kristina Ebner - La Pine Elementary

Emily Curfew - Lava Ridge Elementary

Excellence in Education honorees for 2024 are:

Amity Creek Magnet School — Haley Horton

Bear Creek Elementary — Terri Wolnick, Eugenia Ryder

Bend Senior High School — Kevin Cooper, Lauren Roberts

Bend Tech Academy — Marcus Glassow, Marty Codino

Buckingham Elementary — Margaret Donohue, Kristina Biederman

Caldera High School — Lindsay Nickerson, Tom Hollingshead

Cascade Middle School — Lauren Miller, Jimmy Thebo

Elk Meadow Elementary — Mary Dean, Nicole Garroutte

Ensworth Elementary — Jeff Johnson, Rebecca Easton

High Desert Middle School — Elissa Freeman, Gina Samuel

High Lakes Elementary — Erin Dugan, Nicole Bianchi

Highland Magnet School — Michelle Watt, Danielle Donnell

Juniper Elementary — Kristina Burkhart, Bobbi Nelson

La Pine Elementary — Kristina Ebner, Alyssa Lohner

La Pine High School — Cameron Salvitelli, Bridget Montgomery

La Pine Middle School — Stuart Johnson, Tiffany Schreiber

Lava Ridge Elementary — Emily Curfew, Kathy Batz

Mountain View High School — Andy Young, Heidi Hanson

North Star Elementary School — Allison Harris, Gwyn Bell

Pacific Crest Middle School — Ryan McLaughlin, Tami Nielsen

Pilot Butte Middle School — Lyndsey Hendrix, Michelle Harris-Waldow

Pine Ridge Elementary — Katie Bravo, Cathi Moffenbeier

Ponderosa Elementary — Cami Green, Bev Nyden

R.E. Jewell Elementary — Cody Petersen, Chi Komaki

Realms Middle/High School — Heidi Dixon, Jae Brown

Rosland Elementary — Jeannie Thorp, Amanda Caffro

Silver Rail Elementary — Melanie Kent, Sara Maxwell

Sky View Middle School — Jennie Wenndorf, Catherine Honey

Summit High School — Marni Spitz, Lori Davis

Three Rivers K-8 School — Shalea Zepeda, Joanne Trese

Westside Village Magnet School — Gabriel Linn, Kelly Duran

William E. Miller Elementary — Glen Carey, Annette Bowler

Nutrition Services — Norma Morales

Maintenance — Jim Scott

Custodial Department — Carisa Gregg

Information Technology — Josh Brown

Teaching & Learning — Kaelynn Adams

Bend Transportation — Danette Dillman

La Pine Transportation — Jack Nielsen

Human Resources — Kelly Marty

Bend-La Pine Online — Jaye Gibb, Lisa Knowles