Thank You School Board!

January is School Board Appreciation Month

Article Date: Jan 14, 2020

Bend-La Pine Schools is recognizing its seven members of the Board of Directors during tonight’s school board meeting in honor of School Board Appreciation Month. The district is led by seven dedicated volunteers who commit numerous hours to serve our students and schools each year.

“I hope our families, students and staff will join me in thanking our school board members for their commitment and passion to serving our students and schools,” said Superintendent Shay Mikalson.

The seven volunteer board members spend many hours reviewing budgets, education initiatives and policies as well as attending board meetings and numerous school events and activities throughout the year.

Our board members are: Julie Craig, Melissa Barnes Dholakia, Carrie Douglass, Shimiko Montgomery, Caroline Skidmore, Amy Tatom and Dr. Stuart Young. Read more about their backgrounds on the School Board Member webpage.