Skip to main content


Celebrating Our School Board

January is School Board Appreciation Month

Article Date: Jan 08, 2018


Seven dedicated volunteers serve as the members of the Bend-La Pine Schools Board of Directors, committing countless hours to serve students and our schools each year. January is School Board Appreciation Month and the district recognizes these members for their commitment and desire to create the best schools possible for all students.

“It is an honor to work alongside these seven volunteers, who put in long hours to serve the students in our communities,” said Superintendent Shay Mikalson. “Thank you board members for helping to make Bend-La Pine Schools exceptional.”

The seven volunteer board members spend many hours reviewing budgets, education initiatives and policies as well as attending board meetings twice a month and attending numerous school events and activities throughout the year.

Our board members are: Julie Craig, Carrie Douglass, Ron Gallinat, Cheri Helt, Andy High, Peggy Kinkade and Dr. Stuart Young. Read more about their backgrounds on the School Board Member webpage.