Our School Board

Board Members 2019-20

Seven community members make up the Bend-La Pine Schools Board of Directors. Registered voters elect board members for terms of four years. The school board has governance responsibilities in four areas: vision, accountability, policy and advocacy. The school board believes that effective public school education must be directed toward common needs of all children and must also consider the unique differences and needs of individual children.

It is the board’s role to set policy, develop clear expectations for results, and to evaluate progress. The board has empowered the district leadership team, led by the superintendent, to carry out the district’s daily operations in alignment with policies and expectations, to pursue short- and long-term goals, and to resolve issues that arise along the way. This allows the board to maintain a system-wide focus and supports an appropriate distinction between policy and administration.

If you would like to bring positive feedback, questions or concerns to the school board’s attention, there are a variety of ways your voice can be heard. You can attend a school board meeting and share your thoughts during the public comment section of the meeting. You can submit a message to the school board’s Listening Post, which is an electronic communication directly to the full board and superintendent. You can always send a letter to the school board at 520 NW Wall Street, Bend, Oregon, 97703. The school board is committed to open governance and transparent communication that includes listening to stakeholders, students, staff, parents/families and community members.

Community engagement is a vital part of our school district’s success. Community members who have feedback or concerns for the school district (regarding operations) or school board (regarding policy) are encouraged to contact the person closest to the situation first to have their issue addressed most effectively and efficiently.

Click here to learn who to contact and how.

Find More Information

To find which precinct you belong to, refer to these maps from Deschutes County elections: Deschutes County Precincts or City of Bend Precincts.

The latest Board Member Zone & Term Summary can be found here.

Find board agendas, supplemental information or minutes of board meetings in the District Meetings Library.

Review the District Calendar to find dates and times of upcoming board meetings.

Contact the Board

Submit a message to the school board's Listening Post, which is an electronic communication directly to the full board and superintendent.

Board Members

Caroline Skidmore

Caroline Skidmore
Zone 1
Learn more about Caroline Skidmore

Julie Craig

Julie Craig
Zone 2
Learn more about Julie Craig

Shimiko Montgomery

Shimiko Montgomery
Zone 3
Learn more about Shimiko Montgomery

Stuart Young

Dr. Stuart Young
Zone 4
Learn more about Dr. Stuart Young

Melissa Barnes Dholakia

Melissa Barnes Dholakia
Zone 6
Learn more about Melissa Barnes Dholakia

Carrie Douglass

Carrie Douglass
Zone 7
Learn more about Carrie Douglass

Board members are elected by voters community-wide and represent the entire school district; however, they must reside in one of five zones or be elected as 'at-Large.'